All Rights Reserved.

My blog photos suck. A visitor made the very accurate observation in more gentle terms. And, I have to concur. In my defense, what’s a broke, history student to do? I like good, powerful artistic expression. I like thoughtful commentary. I love when the two come together and stimulate deep thought. However, I have no interest in being sued. Catch me at home and I’ll tell you plainly, “Lawsuits? Ain’t nobody got time for that.” Nor do I have court money, or a lawyer on retainer. So…

Well okay, I admit that I am engaging in hyperbole and wallowing in anxiety about my own intersection with history and new media. But, the point is to move beyond it. Daniel J. Cohen and Roy Rosenzweig make a very good point in Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving, and Presenting the Past on the Web that “too much deliberation can be counterproductive, making some hesitant to contribute to the History Web… reducing the number and variety of online creators.” I know they are right. I appreciate their very careful break down of how historians can use the web, and how they can protect and share their stuff effectively and confidently. In fact, it has inspired me to step out and use more hyperlinking.  So in that spirit, check this out:

Yay, my first foray into re-broadcasting not to be confused with distribution (See Cohen & Rosenzweig on distinctions). And really, wasn’t that video a zen-like experience? Lol. Lame joke aside. To do new media and history people have to cast off the anxiety. I don’t see it as an easy task. Visions of corporate lawyers on the prowl haunt me… but I think maybe my drive to do good history will win this battle. For the sake of the discipline, I hope it wins out with many.

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. This is a very optimistic post about a very sensitive topic, and I like it. We should throw caution to the wind….until it comes to oneself. Yet again, what are the chances of us being individually sued. Even radio shows at times will air questionable content just because the odds of legal action against them are so slim. Maybe historians should take the cue. Look at Facebook for example, how much copyrighted content is posted there?? Lots!

    1. You’re right. And now that I’ve learned more about copyright I have to say I feel much better about it and Fair Use. I think that is the trick, making sure people are knowledgeable about what Fair Use allows for.

Leave a Reply

